Skip to Main Content
Sign In
Toggle Navigation

Open the Navigation Management window, which can be used to view the full current branch of the menu tree, and edit it.


2019 Alpha Kappa Delta Honor Awards

Image Picker for Section 0

Congratulations to all Award Recipients

​​Each year, the Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice recognizes outstanding students and faculty based on several criteria including scholarship, service and character. These students and faculty are presented with memorial awards donated by family members of faculty and/or students who have since passed away, but who contributed greatly to the Department through their scholarship, service and character, thus naming the awards after their loved one. In addition to the three memorial awards, Professor Emeritus Dr. Frank Scarpitti also actively donates an award each year to an outstanding Graduate Student for his/her commitment to excellence. The awards are defined below and the recipients of past awards are listed below the descriptions.

Jan Burrows Memorial Graduate Educator Award

Professor Eric Rise

​Professor Eric Rise accepts the Jan Burrows Memorial Graduate Educator Award

​This award, honoring the late Jan Burrows, a doctoral candidate in Sociology, is awarded annually by graduate students to a faculty member who has made a significant contribution to students’ socialization for the discipline.

2019 Reciepient: Professor Eric Rise

Benjamin McLuckie Memorial Award

Professors Asia Friedman and Anne Bowler with Stella Castor

​Professors Asia Friedman and Anne Bowler with Award Winner Stella Castor

Benjamin McLuckie was an Assistant Professor of Sociology in our department before his untimely death in 1975. After a brief career as a Presbyterian minister, he returned to graduate school and earned a Ph.D. degree in Sociology, determined to do research and teach the discipline that he loved. He was an outstanding undergraduate teacher, dedicated to his students and capable of getting the very best out of them. Known for his humanity and integrity, he served as a role model for both his colleagues and his students. After his death, his family and friends created the Benjamin McLuckie Award to honor his memory and to recognize an outstanding senior Sociology major who best demonstrates the scholarship, dedication and integrity that exemplified Professor McLuckie’s life and work. 

2019 Recipient: Stella Castor

Len Perfetti Memorial Award

Nasir Wilson & Family

​Nasir Wilson accepts the Len Perfetti Memorial Award at the 2019 AKD Banquet

​Len Perfetti was a criminal justice major and also a varsity football player for the Blue Hens who began his college career in 1974. In 1977 he was diagnosed with an inoperable cancer of the lymphatic system. After extensive chemotherapy, he returned to the university in the spring of 1978, despite the fact that his condition was steadily worsening. That semester he earned a 3.77 and continued to volunteer a great deal of time working with juvenile offenders. In the summer of 1978 he was repeatedly hospitalized and underwent chemotherapy sessions at Sloan-Kettering in New York. In the fall he still enrolled for the last 12 credits that he needed to complete his B.A. in Criminal Justice, making arrangements with his professors to complete his required course work from his hospital bed. When he died at the age of 22 in November 1978, he had completed all of his course work required for his degree. Faculty members were so impressed by Len’s courage, tenacity, commitment to volunteerism, and his relentless pursuit of excellence that they created the Len Perfetti Award in his honor. The recipient of this award, a senior Criminal Justice major who best demonstrates the scholarship, leadership, determination to excel, and commitment to human service. 

2019 Recipient: Nasir Wilson

Frank Scarpitti Graduate Student Award

Brandie Pugh with Professor Eric Rise

​Brandi Pugh accepts the Frank Scarpitti Award with Professor Eric Rise

​This award is presented annually to an outstanding graduate student in the Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice. The Frank Scarpitti Graduate Student Award was created in 2006 through a generous donation made by Dr. Frank and Mrs. Ellen Scarpitti. Dr. Scarpitti’s reputation as a leading scholar in the fields of Sociology and Criminology is matched by his excellence in teaching as well as service to the department, the University, the discipline and the community. This award serves to highlight Frank’s accomplishments and demonstrates our commitment to recognizing the excellence of our graduate students. The recipient of this award is selected by the Graduate Policy Committee with nominations from faculty and scientists in the Department and at the Center for Drug and Alcohol Studies and the Disaster Research Center.

2019 Recipient(s): Brandie Pugh & Patricia Becker (not pictured)

​Professor Eric Rise displaying Patricia Becker's Award

Page Settings and MetaData:
(Not Shown on the Page)
Page Settings
Alpha Kappa Delta Annual Spring Honors Banquet 2019
MetaData for Search Engine Optimization
2019 Alpha Kappa Delta Honor Awards
  • Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice
  • 322/325 Smith Hall, 18 Amstel Avenue, Newark DE 19716, USA
  • Phone: 302-831-2581 Fax: 302-831-2607
  • Email:
  • For Web Questions: